dsr060 : Ike Yard - Remix EP #1

Ike Yard

Remix EP #1

dsr060 12″ SOLD OUT!

UPC : 3700604704058


A – Ike Yard – ‘Loss’ (Regis Version)
B – Ike Yard – ‘NCR’ (Monoton Dub)

This 12″ heralds desire‘s vinyl reissue of Ike Yard‘s self-titled album. Originally released on Factory America in 1982, Ike Yard was a product of the New York no wave scene, but also stood very much apart from it, then as now. Propulsive, paranoid, aggressive electro minimalism, with as much attention paid to the mixing board and effects processors as to vocals, guitar and synth. At once starker and more fully-formed than virtually all other contemporaneous post-punk music. Desire’s 2012 edition represents the first ever vinyl reissue of this classic, prophetic album.

Following his remixes of Raime and Vatican Shadow, and his own ‘In A Syrian Tongue’ EP, Regis returns to B.E.B. with a brooding, immaculately swung version of Ike Yard’s ‘Loss’. This is no 21st century techno makeover; Ike Yard’s music requires no such updating. It sounds more like Regis sneaked into the The Ranch in ’82, thrashing out a mix on the desk there and then.

On the B-side, hypermedia researcher and artist Konrad Becker, aka Monoton, whose own seminal electronic work of ’82, Monotonprodukt 07, was also recently reissued by desire, supplies an engrossing dub mix of Ike Yard’s ‘NCR’. Like Regis, Becker preserves the sound and spirit of the original parts, twisting them into a compulsive groove wrought out of desiccated breakbeats, wailing synths and immense sub-bass detonations.

Ike Yard was originally a quartet comprising Michael Diekmann, Stuart Argabright, Kenneth Compton and Fred Szymanski. The group are active again after a 28 year hiatus, sans Szymanski; their most recent album is 2011’s Nord, and they will be touring the US and Europe in Autumn/Winter 2012.


For more information on purchasing this release digitally, read more here.